Mr. Tetsuya Utamura, AMRO Deputy Director, welcomes the delegation from Cambodia’s Real Estate Business & Pawnshop Regulator (REBPR), led by Mr. Chamnan Sieng, Director of Research, Training and Cooperation Department, to a special training session at AMRO’s offices.

SINGAPORE, December 1, 2022 – A delegation from Cambodia’s Real Estate Business & Pawnshop Regulator (REBPR), a newly established government body under the Non-Bank Financial Services Authority of Cambodia, visited the ASEAN+3 Macroeconomic Research Office (AMRO) on November 29 to participate in a tailored training course on macroeconomic surveillance and regulatory framework for the real estate market. The training was provided by AMRO economists as part of its technical assistance (TA) activities.

In his opening remarks, Mr. Tetsuya Utamura, AMRO Deputy Director, introduced the expanded TA activities of AMRO and thanked the REBPR for its participation in the training. He emphasized the value of mutual learning and hoped REBPR would gain useful insights from other countries to ensure the focused assessment and mitigation measures of the key risks in the real estate sector.

The half-day training course, moderated by Mr. Jinho Choi, Deputy Group Head and Senior Economist, included three sessions: on AMRO’s country surveillance framework for Cambodia; assessing key risks in Cambodia’s real estate market; and macro-prudential surveillance and policy framework for the real estate market learned from other ASEAN+3 countries’ experiences.

Mr. Choi concluded the training by saying that it was a very valuable session because participants and AMRO country teams can learn a lot by exchanging views on key areas of weakness in Cambodia’s real estate sector supervision. He said AMRO would be happy to continue to provide such training based on the members’ demands.

About AMRO

The ASEAN+3 Macroeconomic Research Office (AMRO) is an international organization established to contribute towards securing macroeconomic and financial stability of the ASEAN+3 region, which includes 10 members of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) and China; Hong Kong, China; Japan; and Korea. AMRO’s mandate is to conduct macroeconomic surveillance, support the implementation of the regional financial arrangement, the Chiang Mai Initiative Multilateralisation (CMIM), and provide technical assistance to the members.