

10 Shenton Way #15-08, MAS Building Singapore 079117 T: +65 6323 9844 F: +65 6223 8187 www.amro-asia.org

AMRO Annual Consultation Visit to Malaysia: August 8 – 12, 2016

An AMRO mission led by Dr Jae Young Lee conducted this year's Annual Consultation Visit to Malaysia from August 8 to August 12. Dr Junhong Chang, AMRO Director, and Dr Hoe Ee Khor, AMRO Chief Economist participated in the policy meetings.

During the visit, AMRO staff held a series of meetings with the public sector, including the Ministry of Finance of Malaysia, the Bank Negara Malaysia, as well as the private sector, international organizations, and a think-tank. During the meetings, AMRO staff discussed a wide range of issues regarding the Malaysian economy, including its current economic outlook, risks and vulnerabilities, fiscal sustainability, monetary policy, financial sector soundness, capital flows, and structural reforms. The discussions also focused on the appropriateness of policy measures, including the stance of fiscal and monetary policies, and structural reforms. The mission team presented its preliminary assessment on the Malaysia economy to the authorities and a final report would be prepared when the mission team returns to Singapore.

AMRO would like to thank the Malaysian authorities for their warm hospitality, and for assisting the mission team in arranging the meetings. The visit to Malaysia has further strengthened the bilateral relationship with the Malaysian authorities, as well as greatly contributed towards AMRO's understanding of the macroeconomic and financial situation in Malaysia.



Meeting with the Bank Negara Malaysia Deputy Governor, Dr Sukhdave Singh (From left to right: Dr Junhong Chang, AMRO Director; Dr Sukhdave Singh; and Dr Hoe Ee Khor, AMRO Chief Economist)



Meeting with the Ministry of Finance, Malaysia (From left to right: Dr Ruperto Majuca, AMRO Senior Specialist; Mr Xinke Tang, AMRO Researcher; Ms Azah Hanim Ahmad, MOF Deputy Undersecretary; Ms. Norhaslinda Mohd Sibi, MOF Principal Assistant Secretary; Ms Chew Hoy Yan, MOF Assistant Secretary; Dr Sharifah Adlina Syed Abdullah, MOF Head of Section; Dr Hoe Ee Khor, AMRO Chief Economist; Datuk K. Givananadam, MOF Undersecretary; Dr Jae Young Lee, AMRO Group Head; Mr Anthony Tan, Senior Economist; Mr Enrico Tanuwidjaja, Specialist; and Dr Abdurohman, Fiscal Specialist)